Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Over and under the canyon  Cover Image Book Book

Over and under the canyon / by Kate Messner ; with art by Christopher Silas Neal.

Messner, Kate, (author.). Neal, Christopher Silas, (illustrator.).

Summary:

Over and Under the Canyon takes young readers on a thrilling tour of a desert canyon ecosystem. Over the canyon, the sun scalds the air, baking desert mud to stone. But under the shade of the cliffs hides another world, where bighorn sheep bound from rock to rock on the hillside, roadrunners make their nests in sturdy cacti, and banded geckos tuck themselves into the shelter of the sand. Discover the wonders concealed in the curves of the canyon, the magic of a desert wildflower bloom, and all the unexpected creatures that bring the desert to life.DISCOVER AMAZING ANIMALS: Kids are endlessly curious about the natural world and the wildly varied animals living in it-and the desert is FULL of amazing and surprising animals!CAPTIVATING NONFICTION: Like its predecessors, this latest offering in the Over and Under picture book series illuminates the magic of the natural world and its amazing inhabitants by telling the story of one family's hike through a real-world desert ecosystem in lyrical prose and color-drenched illustrations. Even the most reluctant readers will be drawn into a fact-filled story this compelling!GREAT FOR TEACHING: The Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) emphasize learning about animal habitats/biomes in K-2 curriculums, while later grades address topics like food chains, conservation, and endangered species. With a depth of research and an engaging, highly visual narrative, this book is an excellent resource for librarians and primary school educators.ENCOURAGES ENVIRONMENTAL AWARENESS: Concern for and preservation of the wilderness is an increasingly talked-about topic. This book provides a great, upbeat jumping-off point for discussions of the importance and wonder of our world's natural habitats and ecosystems.ACCLAIMED AUTHOR-ILLUSTRATOR TEAM: Kate Messner is an award-winning author whose books for kids have been New York Times Notable, Junior Library Guild, IndieBound, and Bank Street College of Education Best Book selections. In addition to his work on this acclaimed series, Christopher Silas Neal is an award-winning illustrator and author who regularly contributes to the New York Times and The New Yorker, and he has been awarded a medal from the Society of Illustrators.Perfect for:· Parents· Nature lovers· Fans of Kate Messner· Fans of Over and Under the Snow and previous books in the series· Educators and librarians seeking nonfiction books with STEM content Provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781452169392
  • ISBN: 145216939X
  • Physical Description: 56 unnumbered pages : color illustrations ; 31 cm.
  • Publisher: San Francisco : Chronicle Books, [2021]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references.
Target Audience Note:
Ages 5-8. Chronicle Books.
Grades 2-3. Chronicle Books.
AD680L Lexile
Study Program Information Note:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 3.2 0.5 517945.
Subject: Animals > California > Anza-Borrego Desert > Juvenile literature.
Natural history > California > Anza-Borrego Desert > Juvenile literature.
Ecology > California > Anza-Borrego Desert > Juvenile literature.
Canyons > California > Juvenile literature.
Anza-Borrego Desert (Calif.) > Juvenile literature.
Anza-Borrego Desert State Park (Calif.) > Juvenile literature.

Available copies

  • 19 of 22 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Albany Carnegie.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 22 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Albany Carnegie Public Library E FIC ANIMAL WILD MES (Text) 35615010063703 Easy Picture Books Available -


Additional Resources